Thursday, January 3, 2013

{Review} The Forbidden Trilogy by Kimberly Kinrade #IOBookTours

Welcome one and all to my stop on The Forbidden Trilogy book tour brought to you by I.O. Book Tours. Here you will find my review of the book as a trilogy, information about the book and the author. So, sit back, relax and have an enchanting time.
About the Books

The Forbidden Trilogy
by Kimberly Kinrade

Add to Goodreads

Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance, YA
Series: The Forbidden Trilogy #1-3
Published: November 26th 2012
Publisher: Evolved Publishing

Book Description

Paranormal teens with unimaginable powers. A secret organization with deadly intentions. When Sam, a girl who reads minds, meets Drake, a boy who controls minds, they discover their lives aren't what they thought.

Together, they must escape their fate and free their friends, before they lose everyone they love.

This special edition omnibus includes the entire Forbidden Trilogy--Forbidden Mind, Forbidden Fire and Forbidden Life, as well as extensive bonus content. Meet the author in an in-depth Q&A, get to know your favorite characters better, enjoy never-before-revealed interlude scenes and so much more.

Forbidden Mind
49% of Americans believe their government officials are honest. I don't know these officials, or their supporters, but I know their secrets, and 49% of Americans are wrong.

My employers pay me well to be right, to know things others can't. But I don't know why they brought that boy in, strapped to a stretcher, barely conscious. He asked me for help when I could give none.

I'm a wealthy spy, a talented artist, a martial arts black belt, and a prisoner. They tell me that on my eighteenth birthday, I will be released, free to go to the college of my dreams. It's my eighteenth birthday, and a man in black is at my door. I know he's not here to free me.

I know, because I can read minds.

My name is Sam, and this is my story.

So begins the tale of Sam and Drake--from the time they link minds, forging a bond that leads to an unconventional romance--to their fight for survival against the corrupt, twisted organization known as 'Rent-A-Kid.'

Winner of 2011 Forward National Literature Award

Forbidden Fire
"She escaped, but she'll never be free."

"Time held no meaning as my mind darted in and out of memories. Past and present collided to create a full-sensory collage out of my life: playing hide-n-seek with my best friends Luke--who always cheated by walking through walls when he was about to be caught--and Lucy; Mr. Caldrin critiquing my sketches and offering ideas to make them more realistic; targets changing faces, blending into the same person, their thoughts rippling through my mind like waves. Through it all, a demon stalked me from the shadows of my memories, never quite showing its face, but crouching, waiting.

And then I dreamed...."

Sam and Drake may have escaped, but they aren't free—not with a powerful Seeker after them. As Sam struggles with the ethics of her new powers and embraces a blossoming physical relationship with Drake, Lucy and Luke face challenges of their own.

With forces coalescing inside and outside the Rent-A-Kid dorms, it's only a matter of time before the fire they started forces each of them to make choices they can't undo. But will it be enough to save them?

Forbidden Life
The road to redemption begins in darkness.

A sinister force waits for them in darkness, ready to devour their powers and take their lives.

Sam's baby is the key to a lock that must never been opened. To keep her child safe, Sam will do anything.

Drake might have found a way to get his powers back and save his family, but is it too late?

Luke and Lucy uncover secrets in an organization they thought they could trust, and the lives of all Rent-A-Kid children are at stake.

In this last Forbidden Trilogy installment, the secrets to Rent-A-Kid will finally be revealed.
My Review

I am reviewing these books as a trilogy set and not individually through this review. There will be separate reviews for each book coming soon.

I have to say that the way these books are presented in this trilogy is the best I have seen. Normally when books are put into a trilogy set no extra stuff is included however; Kim decided that her fans deserved more. So, in this set not only do we get the 3 books of the series: Forbidden Mind, Forbidden Fire and Forbidden Life but we also get some awesome bonus short stories that are found between each book itself. We also got a bunch of awesome stuff at the end, which I thought, made this trilogy so much better than any other out there. Included are profiles of each character, which is awesome because it gives you a look at each one where you can learn more about them and also character interviews which are awesome as well. I always want to know what the characters think about what is going on. This trilogy is packed with so much extra content that I wish authors would think about doing with their series and trilogies.

The books are awesome and so darkly romantic that it breaks my heart and makes me love and hate each book all at the same time. The characters are developed in a way that you can't help but become so emotionally invested in them and when something happens you can't help but to feel as they do. They also have a voice all their own which I have found hard to find from other authors. The romance is also something that I just swooned over especially between Hunter and Lucy, Wowza! is all I have to say. They did it right, too because it was one of those that they hit it off from the very beginning and everything just got better and better. Those are the types of love stories that I can really get behind because those are so much more realistic to life. Instead of these love stories where they see one another and then instantly fall in love. I really hate that in stories because seriously that doesn't happen in real life and writers seem to feel the need to make everyone instantly fall in love when its better to give the characters some realism even if they are paranormal.

This is one series that I can say I will be telling everyone about and recommending it to everyone, I know. I hear that Kim will be writing a spin off series, which I hope she will be doing. Two of my favorite characters will be involved, Luke and Lucy, so I am looking forward to that from Kim in the future.

I give this book
*Disclosure Notice*
I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my personal and honest review. I was not compensated in any way. All thoughts and opinions expressed herein are my own.
Other Reviews

"A thrilling, dark and deeply romantic read." ~Refracted Light Young Adult Book Reviews

"The plot is very ALIAS and DARK ANGEL-like with X-MEN as its backdrop (awesome combo!)." ~Sour Skittles Book Blog

"...a thrilling, dark and deeply romantic read that had me sitting on the edge of my seat and eagerly awaiting the next installment." ~ Refracted Light Young Adult Book Reviews
Buy the Book

About the Author
Kimberly Kinrade

Kimberly Kinrade was born with ink in her veins and magic in her heart. She writes fantasy and paranormal stories for children, YA and adults and still believes in magic worlds. Check out her YA paranormal novels Forbidden Mind and Forbidden Fire and her illustrated children's fantasy chapter books Lexie World, and Bella World, all on Amazon.

She lives with her three little girls who think they're ninja princesses with super powers, her two dogs who think they're humans and her husband, also known as the sexy Russian Prince, who is the love of her life and writing partner.
More Information

For a list of her books, check out her Amazon Author Page.
For a fun fan experience, join the team at I.P.I.
For kids and parents of young kids, join the Lost Kids.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 photo Disclaimersmall_zps2fe886df.jpg